Meeting to discuss expanding Sport and Leisure Awards

Mallow Sport and Leisure Council will hold a meeting next Tuesday, 12th November in the Hibernian Hotel to discuss the possibility of expanding the local Sport and Leisure Awards into a Mallow and District Awards Night, to incorporate areas such as Mourneabbey, Doneraile, Ballyclough, Killavullen and Kilshannig. Interested groups, clubs and individ-uals from Mallow and surrounding areas are invited to attend. Mallow Sport and Leisure Awards has been running since 1991, the first Hall of Fame winner being Jack Golden, while Timmy Butler received the Leisure Award. Sport Award winners that year were Gillian Ahern (basketball), David Conway (golf), Terri Horgan (athletics), Raymond O’Connell (GAA), Stephen Palmer (handball) and Mick O’Shea (soccer). Guest of honour at the first awards night was sports journalist Dave Guiney.