Ballyhoura Macra started 2012 in true Macra style with New Year’s Eve Balls in Cork and Cahir. Carrigaline Macra ran a fabulous New Year’s Eve Ball in the Cork Airport hotel while South Tipperary Macra held their annual ball in Cahir House Hotel. Well done to the organising committees of both events.

Ballyhoura Macra would like to wish all members and fellow clubs a happy new year. We would like especially to thank all your sponsors over the year and look forward to their continued support in 2012 It’s been a busy few weeks for Ballyhoura Macra with a flurry of new members taking part in various competitions across the region and county.



The Avondhu Macra Regional Christmas/New Year’s Party will take place on Saturday, January 7th in The Crossroads Bar, Buttevant. A brilliant night guaranteed with food and music. The next regional meeting will take place on Monday, January 9th in Banteer at 9pm.

All welcome. Ballyhoura Macra would like to wish our new neighbours Fermoy Macra, the very best of luck in their first year as a club.


Macra training envisages to provide club officers with training in areas such as motivation, teamwork, strategic planning and programme planning. Skills which are learned at training will assist any officer in gaining the understanding and skill set for the role played within their club. Training will be provided free of charge. It will take place on Satur-day, January 28th from 2-5pm in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney. Anyone interested please text Caitríona on 086-3760487 as soon as possible.




Ballyhoura’s indoor soccer team came back to Glantane just before Christmas to take part in the Avondhu Regional Soccer final. The team beat our close neighbours Mitchelstown Macra, and then followed with a victory against Fermoy. In the end Ballyhoura drew their third match with Awbeg Macra but failed to qualify for the final, losing out on goal difference.

Ballyhoura did extremely well at a recent sumo wrestling fundraising competition organised by Awbeg Macra in Buttevant. After several rounds in the men’s competition, it was left to Ballyhoura’s Jimmy Lillis to contest the title against the reigning cham-pion from Awbeg Macra club. Finally it was Awbeg’s competitor who retained the title. Bally-houra’s Abina McCarthy won the final round in the ladies competition. Videos of the rounds are posted on the Ballyhoura Facebook page.