Baltydaniel NS Girls Just Miss Out In Sciath Na Scol

On Wednesday 25th January the girls of Baltydaniel NS broke new ground when they played in the Sciath Na Scol indoor camogie competition for the first time. This tournament was for fifth class girls, our squad was made up of both fourth and fifth classes. First up they played GS Thomáis Dáibhís, Mallow, and were unlikely to lose by three goals to two. In their final game they played Ballygown and again lost by only one goal in a very keenly contested game. Even though the girls had a few training sessions this was their first time playing in this type of competition and they handled themselves brilliantly. Well done girls and thanks for the support on the day by the parents. The squad was as follows: Rachel Kelleher, Clodagh Kearns, Ella O’Sullivan, Tara Walsh, Laoise Duane, Hannah Gayer, Léan Duane, Alision Kearns and Laura Murphy.



Boy’s Victorious

Last week in Doneraile the lads from 4th class in Baltyaniel NS retained their local Sciath Na Scol indoor hurling crown. Due to this victory they will compete in the county finals in March and strive to win back to back county titles. First up was a strong Buttevant team and after going a goal down the boys upped their performance and ran out winners on a 5-3 scoreline. Next up was Ballyhea and with the first game under their belt the boys were on fire in this one and ran out 5-0 winners. The final awaited, the opposition was a strong, local Doneraile side and we knew that this was going to be a titantic struggle. Doneraile took an early lead but as we have come to explore the Balty Boys relish a challenge and hit back with four unan-swered goals and even-tually ran out 5-2 winners. There cannot be too many more exciting and frantic spectacles as indoor hurling, the speed of the game and enter-tainment all the players give to the supporters. These lads from Balty-daniel are very brave, committed and have a great will to win. Roll on the county finals. Thanks to all parents who gave their support on the day.

The squad was as follows: Fionn Woods, Killian O’Donovan, Niall O’Riordan, Eoin Kell-eher, Mikey Duignan, Kevin Smith, Max Philips and Michael Fitzpatrick.