Buttevant take Junior (C) HC title




Buttevant took the Junior C HC title at Mourneabbey on Sunday. The game was played in torrential rain and very heavy underfoot conditions. Kildorrery had the aid of the cross wind in the first half. They took an early lead and helped by a goal from a Seán Young free in the 11th minute they moved 1-2 to 0-1 clear. Both sides had some missed chances. At half time Kildorrery led 1-3 to 0- 4.

Buttevant gained supremacy on the changeover and some well taken points by Kevin O’Keeffe, Paul Dowling, Denis O Sullivan and Kevin Lenahan had them 0-11 to 1-3 ahead entering the final quarter. Good play by Darren Quinn led to a well taken goal by Kevin O’Keeffe. In the 52nd minute Kevin Lenahan had a long range goal. Seán Young had Kildorrery’s only score of the half in the 54th minute. Buttevant continued to dominate and in the end they were winners by a 12 point margin.

After the game Barry Aherne Board Vice Chairman presented the cup to the winning captain Jonathan Hallahan, John O’Donnell Charleville represented the sponsors with Kevin O’Keeffe being named ‘man of the match.’

Scorers for Buttevant: Kevin O’Keeffe 1-7 (0-4f) Kevin Lenahan 1-1, Darren Quinn 0-2, Aidan Walsh 0-1, Paul Dowling 0-1, Denis O’Sullivan 0-1.

Kildorrery: Seán Young 1-3f. Seán Walsh 0-1.


: Chris O’Toole, Ian Barry, Martin Murphy, Kieran O’Connell, Luke Ring, Jonathan Hallahan (Capt) Kevin Lenahan, Brian Flynn, Aidan Walsh, Raymond Harrington, Paul Dowling, Kevin O’Keeffe Denis O’Sullivan, Darren Quinn, Tadhg Cullen. Subs: David Walsh for Tadhg Cullen, Barry Sheahan for Darren Quinn, Darren Noonan for Brian Flynn, Aidan Hallahan for Kevin O’Connell, Colm Kennedy for Raymond Harrington.


Dave Roche, Anthony Palmer, Tim Crowley, Niall Kelly, Jason Walsh, John Howard, Stephen Guerin, Dylan Kent, Liam Kelly, Seán Young, Seán O’Sullivan, Darren McNamara, Ciaran O’Connor, Seán Walsh, P J Keating. Sub John Fitzgerald for P J Keating, Eugene Sweeney for Dylan Kent.


Michael Sheehan (Liscarroll).