Charleville take Rebel Óg Under 16 A HC

Charleville. North Cork U16A Hurling Champions 2018
Charleville North Cork U16A Hurling 8-8
Photos by Tony Stack

Charleville took the Rebel Óg North Under 16 A HC title at Kildorrery on Thursday evening when they overcame Watergrashill in a very well contested final.
The ‘Hill’ dominated the opening quarter with Darragh O’Leary outstanding at centre forward. O’Leary opened with a point with Killian Cagney levelling from a ‘65. Watergrasshill did well and helped by a goal by Darragh O’Leary they moved 1-2 to 0-1 clear. The Rathluirc side had two pointed frees by David Forde. By the end of the first quarter the ‘Hill’ were 1-4 to 0-3 clear. A long range point by O’Leary opened up a five point lead. Charleville keeper Conor Reynolds saved well from Ian O’Callaghan. Both sides exchanged a point with Joey Herbert gaining possession from a puckout and pointing. Good play by Killian Cagney led to a fine point by David Forde 1-6 to 0-6. The ‘Hill had a few wides with O’Leary opening up a four point lead in the 27th minute. Shane Liddy had a goal for the Avondhu side who trailed by a point at the break 1-7 to 1-6.
On the resumption the ‘Hill’ added an early point. Good play by Stephen McCarthy led to a well taken goal by Joey Herbert that gave them a slender lead 2-6 to 1-8. The Rathluirc side dominated from here on gaining control at midfield and in the half backline. Up front
Joey Herbert was in terrific form. Killian Cagney landed a long range free. By the 4lst minute the ‘Hill’ forced level 2-8 to 1-11. Good play by Ben Crowley led to great goal by Joey Herbert as the Charleville side edged 3-8 to 1-11 clear. David Forde added two pointed frees with Joey Herbert with a 45th minute point opening up a two goal lead. Two minutes later Herbert soloed through and kicked to the net for his third goal as they moved 3 goals clear 4-11 to 1-11. Joey Herbert followed with a goal and a point. The ‘Hill’ battled to the end. They found it hard to make any progress against a solid Charleville defence. In the closing minutes Brendan Lehane and Colm O’Regan had a point each. In injury time Joseph Kavanagh completed the scoring as Charleville recorded a four goal win. After the game Noel O’Neill PRO Northern Region Board presented the cup to the winning captain Killian Cagney.
Scorers for Charleville: Joey Herbert 4-3, David Forde 0-7 (0-6f) Killian Cagney 0-3 (0-2f. 0-1 ‘65) Shane Liddy 1-0, Joseph Kavanagh 0-1.
Watergrasshill: Darragh O’Leary 1- 11 (0-4f) Brendan Lehane 0-2, Colm O’Regan 0-1.
Charleville Conor Reynolds, Ben Crowley Brian Forde, Jimmy O’Neill, Jack Baker, Killian Cagney, Darragh O’Sullivan, Stephen McCarthy, Joseph Kavanagh, Shane Liddy, Dylan O’Brien, David O’Neill, Joey Herbert, David Forde, Ryan Pitman. Subs: Jack Kilcommins for Jack Baker (inj) Jamie Cotter for David O’Neill, Oisin O’Callaghan for Ryan Pitman, Kaden O’Neill for Shane Liddy.
Watergrasshill James Barry, Conor Gowen, Garry Doyle, Cormac Linehan, Donal Sheehan, Andrew Chandler, Cael Guichard, Darragh O’Sullivan, Mark O’Donoghue, Darragh O’Leary, Ian O’Callaghan, Brendan Lehane, Ben Whelan, Colm O’Regan. Subs: Dylan Roche for Conor Gowen, Joseph O’Riordan for Ian O’Callaghan, Adam O’Sullivan for Ben Whelan, Ryan Murray for Davin O’Sullivan.
Referee John O’Brien (Ballygiblin).