Cllr Ian Doyle takes the chair on Kanturk/Mallow Municipal District

Charleville Fianna Fáil Cllr. Ian Doyle has been elected as chairperson of the Kanturk/Mallow Municipal District following the AGM held at the Co. Council offices last Friday. Cllr Doyle (FF) was elected unopposed following his nomination by party colleague Cllr Bernard Moynihan. Mallow Cllr James Kennedy was elected unopposed as the vice-chair.
First elected to the council in the Fermoy Municipal District in 2014, Cllr Doyle, who is a coal merchant by trade, was re-elected in the Kanturk/Mallow area five years later following the redrawing of the local authority district boundaries. In the following year he was selected as County Mayor, and has also served as the chair of the council’s Northern Area Committee.
Accepting the chain of office, Cllr Doyle thanked his council colleagues for supporting his nomination, and outlined his aims for his term in the chair, which include the construction of the Charleville and Mallow relief roads, and the introduction of works on Charleville’s main street to ensure pedestrian safety.
“This is an election year and there are a couple of projects that I would like to see progress, in particular the Mallow and Charleville Relief Roads and a start made on projects in Charleville following the €5.1million allocation of funding under the Our Rural Future initiative,” added Cllr Doyle.