Cork’s Conor Corbett named Electric Ireland Minor Football Player of the Year

Cork’s All-Ireland Minor winning captain, Conor Corbett was on Saturday named as Electric Ireland Minor Football Player of the Year at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards, hosted in Croke Park.
Corbett played a key role for Cork as they claimed their first All-Ireland Minor Football title since 2000 with a stunning victory over Galway. The Clyda Rovers clubman finished with a haul of 1-7 in the final, which included a last-minute strike to bring the game to extra time. Corbett played an influential role as captain throughout the 2019 campaign, as the Rebels overcame heartbreak in the Munster Minor Football Championship in May to win the Tom Markham Cup.
Corbett was presented with the award by Donegal’s most decorated footballer and 2019 Minor Star Awards panel member, Karl Lacey as part of this year’s Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards on Saturday. The event celebrated the Minor Football and Hurling Teams of the Year, who were joined by their families and representatives from their County Boards and Management teams in Croke Park.
The four-man awards selection panel who chose the awardees, was unveiled in June, consisting of Donegal’s most decorated Footballer, Karl Lacey, former Galway dual-star, Alan Kerins, former Waterford Hurling Manager, Derek McGrath and former Dublin footballer, Tomás Quinn.
Electric Ireland 2019 GAA Minor Star Football Team of the Year
Devon Burns – Kerry (Na Gaeil)
Jonathan McGrath – Galway (Caherlistrane)
Oisín Tunney – Mayo (Breaffy)
Ronan Boyle – Monaghan (Truagh Gaels)
Darragh Cashman – Cork (Millstreet)
Daniel Linehan – Cork (Castlemagner)
James Donaghy – Tyrone (Carrickmore St. Colmcilles)
Ethan Henry – Mayo (Mayo Gaels)
James McLaughlin – Galway (Moycullen)
Aaron Browne – Kildare (Celbridge)
Conor Corbett – Cork (Clyda Rovers)
Michael O’Neill – Cork (Buttevant)
Daniel Cox – Galway (Moycullen)
Tomo Culhane – Galway (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
Dylan Geaney – Kerry (Dingle)