Councillors vote for changes to pay parking

At the monthly meeting of Kanturk/ Mallow Municipal District last Thursday, there was unanimous support from all six councillors for changing the current parking arrangements in Mallow, as follows:

Provide a One Hour Free Parking in all off and on-street public car spaces in the town

Extend the maximum stay on the Main Street from one hour to two hours

Simplify the current parking regime by charging 80c per hour in all parking areas with all day parking remaining at €3.

The proposal was jointly made by Cllrs John Paul O’Shea, Dan Joe Fitzgerald, and Melissa Mullane, and was supported by Cllr Gerard Murphy, Bernard Moynihan and Tim Collins. The Executive of Cork County Council will now produce a report for members next meeting on Friday 1st May, outlining the effects this change will have, and how these changes will be implemented.