Davis College Awards Day

The main hall in Davis College was full to overflowing last Friday for the annual awards day, highlight of which was a talk by special guest Pat Falvey, who had the attendance spellbound as he recounted his adventures in mountain climbing, especially his two ascents of Mount Everest. He encouraged the young people present to follow their dreams and take control of their lives, as “life is like a mountain, and we all have an Everest; believe in yourself, your goals, have dreams and make them a reality!”

Overall Student of the Year was Radek Zuk, who received his award from Principal Denis Healy, and the joint winners of the Principal’s Award were Ciarán McCarthy and Jennifer Hough. Eacht Person of the Year was Sandra O’Brien, and Peter Hayes received the School Contribution Award. Junior Certificate Students of the Year were Tara Kiely and Colin Roche, and Darragh Kennefick and Raymond Walsh won Bank of Ireland awards. Other award winners were; Adel O’Callaghan (Enterprise Award), House Danu (Social Contribution Award), Class 3 Cian (Class of the Year), VEX Robotics Team (Science Award), Ciarán McCarthy (Music Award), UCC Plus Student Achievement Award winners Eoghan Buckley, Laura Colgate, Shola Lee O’Callaghan, Patrick O’Donoghue, Abraham Patrick, Igor Rutana and Lucas Surkvekiciu; Attendance Awards, Chloe Browne, Andrew Clarke, Robert Clarke, Neil Curtis, Colin Davitt, Jed Duane, James Fitzpatrick, Osato Mickey, Niall O’Brien, Gerard O’Connell, Siobhán O’Connor, Abraham Patrick and Cathal Sexton. Academic awards: class a Dara, Niall O’Brien; 1 Deaglán, Brian Carey; 1 Diarmuid, Aaron McNamara; 1 Doireann, Matthew McGlynn; 1 Donagh, Neil Curtis; 1 Donal, Shauna Gorry. 2 Aengus, Abraham Patrick; 2 Aine, Jed Duane; 2 Aisling, James Redmond; 2 Aodáin, Sam Joyce; 2 Aoife, Hope Williams. 3 Caoimhe, Ian Sexton; 3 Cian, Charlotte O’Callaghan; 3 Ciara, Megan O’Connor; 3 Ciarán, Nathan O’Regan; 3 Colm, Colin Roche. 5 Garbhán, Michael O’Keeffe; 5 Gearóid, Eilis O’Callaghan; 5 Gobnait, Chantelle Flood; 5 Gráinne, Michelle O’Callaghan.