Enterprise Award for Cotter Crate

A West Limerick company was among the prize winners at the 2022 Enterprise Ireland Innovation Arena Awards, which were unveiled during the National Ploughing Championship at Ratheniska in Laois.
The awards recognise and showcase innovative agri-tech and agri-engineering capabilities and new product development in the agriculture sector.
Brothers Jack and Nick Cotter of ‘Cotter Crate’ in Abbeyfeale won the Best Newcomer Award. The company has developed an innovative sheep-handling system that makes handling sheep and lambs easier, 50% faster, and safer. It has also developed an app called ‘SmartWorm,’ which integrates with the crate.
‘SmartWorm’ enables sheep farmers to transition from blanket treatment with antiparasitic drugs (wormers) to targeted applications treating only the animals that need it. This is achieved via advanced algorithms which identify in real-time whether an animal will benefit from a wormer treatment or not. This reduces antiparasitic drug use by up to 50% – reducing costs, slowing drug resistance, and mitigating negative biodiversity impacts.
Unison Process Solutions of Kilmallock were also recognised at the awards, winning an Agri-Engineering Award.
Meanwhile, there are plenty of local producers on the shortlist for recognition at the Blas na hÉireann (Irish Food Awards) taking place in Dingle at the weekend. In the running are Attyflin Limited (Patrickswell), Ballyhoura Apple Farm, Ballyhoura Mountain Mushrooms, Glen Aine Foods (Knocklong), Kearney’s Home Baking of Ballyhahill, Leahy Farmhouse Foods in Newcastle West, McMahon Quality Meats (Abbey-feale), Sodalicious and Old Mill Creamery.
Limerick Local Enterprise Office Chief, Mike Cantwell said, “the finalists and range of their products reflect the quality of the local produce and the hard work of food entrepreneurs in Limerick.
“Local producers are key to job creation and sus-taining our communities.  We are delighted to see so many of the businesses we have supported in the Blas final and look forward to presenting the Best in County Winner at a later stage.”