Fred Daly win for  Mallow Golf Club

Mallow Golf Club members were celebrating last weekend after 13 year old Daniel O’Sullivan’s putt on the 18th hole sealed a 4-3 win for Mallow against Kinsale in the Fred Daly Trophy Final, their second win in the competition in three years.
The final was a classic, with one match going to the 21st and another going to the 20th as the boys went shot-for-shot in pursuit of the prestigious win, watched by a crowd of about 150 who cheered every dropped putt as if it were the Ryder Cup. As winners, Mallow now go forward to represent Munster in the All Ireland Finals at Moyola Park in Derry later this month. The winning team was Edward Walsh, Conor Roche, Greg Barrett, Liam Dowling, Roy Whelan, Eoin Ahern, and Daniel O’Sullivan.
As if to show that anything the men can do, the women can do equally well, Lady Captain Miriam O’Keeffe looked on proudly as the ladies’ senior foursomes team beat Monkstown and East Cork to reach the Munster Final, which will be played versus Castletroy in Lee Valley on Friday August 21st. Selectors were Ann Holland and Mary Redmond, and team members were Carmel Kearney and Ber Clarson, Mary Dowling and Marie O’Sullivan, Susan Curtin and Catherine Roche. Subs were Marcella O’Flynn. Aisling O’Connor and Susan Coakley.