Kilfinane scoops €10,000 in going for gold

Kilfinane has come up trumps in capturing the top prize of €10,000 in Limerick Going for Gold – a €60,000 competition which aims to make the county a cleaner and brighter place.
Kilfinane were named as the overall winners, with Askeaton in the runner-up spot, and Bruff in third place. Athea, Kilteely, Castleconnell, Croom, Elton, Hospital, Kilmallock, Oola, Pallaskenry and Patrickswell were also shortlisted.
Kilmeedy captured a prize of €5,000 in the Limerick Bee Friendly in Bloom category, with Ardpatrick, Garrienderk and Carrigkerry also in the money. Pallasgreen got €1,500, having been adjudged as Best Residential Area, while Glenroe collected €2,000 for an Endeavour Award. There were special monetary awards for Knocklong and Newcastle West on foot of a request from the judges, Pat Shearin and Michael Griffin. Ben and Anne O’Sullivan of Kilmallock were recognised in the Best Front Garden section.
Organised by Limerick City and Council, the competition is supported by the JP McManus Charitable Foundation.

Working together
Speaking at the awards announcement in The Strand Hotel, Mayor Gerald Mitchell of Hospital said, “I want to congratulate all the entries in this year’s Going for Gold competition and, of course, the overall winners, Kilfinane. It is a credit to you all how communities can come together and transform their areas. Everyone working together, sharing a common purpose.” Gerry Boland, representing the JP McManus Charitable Foundation,  added, “Going for Gold involves so many people in our communities throughout our city and county, and the improvements which they have effected in their local areas are much appreciated and contribute enormously to the quality of the environment in which we live.” “Limerick Going for Gold brings together the efforts and endeavours of communities and I want to thank the entrants for their hard work and commitment as, without it, we wouldn’t be able to have an event such as this,” said Seamus O’Connor, Limerick City and County Council.