Kilshannig take U16 A HC title

Kilshannig won their first ever Northern Region U16 A HC title at Killavullen on Sunday evening. The game was evenly contested throughout the first half and Ballygiblin led at the break 1-8 to 0-10.
Shane Lyons gave Kilshannig the lead with an early pointed free. Ballygiblin edged in front when Mark Keane goaled in the 4th minute. Kieran Twomey, who was outstanding at midfield for Kilshannig, pointed a long range free and followed from play with very accurate Shane Lyons pointing another free 0-4 to 1-0. The sides were level in the 8th minute when Mark Keane put Darragh Flynn through for a point. Good play by Conor Cahill led to a lead point by Aaron O’Brien. Shane Lyons pointed another free. Ballygiblin replied with a Mark Keane pointed free. Keane added two more points that had them a goal clear after 22 minutes 1-5 to 0-5. Bill Curtin and Mark Keane exchanged another point with Ballygiblin holding the goal lead after 28 minutes 1-7 to 0-7. Shane Lyons closed the gap with a free, and scored another after Conor McMahon was fouled. Lyons’s attempt at goal was well saved by Seamus Coleman and cleared. Darragh Flynn and Shane Lyons swopped a point with Kieran Twomey pointing from a long range free in injury time that cut the lead to a point 1-8 to 0-10.
On the resumption Shane Lyons levelled. Darragh Flynn edged Ballygiblin ahead again. Shane Lyons levelled for the 4th time. Both sides had a player dismissed early in the second half for separate red card offences. From here on Kilshannig dominated, they took control in the half backline and midfield sectors resulting in some great scores. Ballygiblin had just one score in the final 25 minutes a goal by Aaron O’Brien after good play by Troy Millea 0-15 to 2-9. It was all Kilshannig in the last quarter with Kieran Twomey putting Conor McMahon through for a well taken goal. Points by Shane Lyons, and a Kieran Twomey goal had the victors 2-17 to 2-9 clear by the 54th minute. Further points by Shane Lyons (2) and a late ‘65 by Kieran Twomey gave them a very comfortable winning margin. After the game Noel O’Neill PRO presented the cup to the winning Captain Adam Sheehan. Kilshannig now face Cloughduv in the Co quarter final this week end.
Scorers for Kilshannig: Shane Lyons 0-13 (0-11f), Kieran Twomey 1-5 (0-2f.0-1 ‘65), Conor McMahon 1-1, Bill Curtin 0-1.
Ballygiblin: Mark Keane 1-5 (0-2f), Aaron O’Brien 1-1, Darragh Flynn 0-3.
Kilshannig: David Kearney, Michael Cogan, Denis Taylor, Hughie Bolster, Colm O’Shea, Cathal O’Sullivan, David O’Riordan, Bill Curtin, Kieran Twomey, Shane Lyons, Conor McMahon, David Guiney, Eanna O’Hanlon, Barry O’Shea, Adam Sheehan. Subs:
Aaron McSweeney for Adam Sheehan, Shane Murphy for David O’Riordan, Brian Curtin for Shane Lyons, Ciaran O’Sullivan for Eanna O’Hanlon.
Ballygiblin: Jody Finn, Cian O’Brien, Seamus Coleman, Eoin Kent, Colin Brennock, Christy O’Sullivan, James Coughlan, Darragh Flynn, Troy Millea, Aaron O’Brien, Billy Condon, Jordan White, Eugene O’Donoghue, Mark Keane, Conor Cahill. Subs: Adam Gubbins for Eugene O’Donoghue, Jack Burke for Conor Cahill, Diarmuid O’Gorman for Colin Brennock, Sean O’Connell for Troy Millea, James Crotty for Eoin Kent.
Referee: Gerard Moran (Banteer)