Local Volunteers Put Forward for National Selection

Limerick Youth Service is delighted to announce that twelve volunteers have been nominated for this year’s Youth Work Ireland Volunteer Achievement Awards. The awards, which will be held at Youth Work Ireland’s National Office, Dublin on Saturday, October 12th, recognise the invaluable contribution that volunteers have and continue to give to young people across the country.

“Our successful volunteers have made it to round two of Youth Work Ireland’s selection process,” explains Dermot Troy, Limerick Youth Service. “With over 500 volunteers we received a sizeable amount of nominees so you can imagine the task our selection committee faced,” laughed Mr. Troy. After careful and heated debate the committee eventually put forward the following that will represent Limerick Youth Service in five categories. Dan and Mairead Fanning, Ahane-Lisnagry Youth Club and Julie McCabe, Castleconnell Youth Club have been nominated for the Leading the Award, which is presented to volunteers who work with young people in their respective clubs and projects. Niamh Keogh, Laff Caff, Southside Youth Cafe and The Factory, is Limerick Youth Service’s sole nominee in the ‘Stepping Up Award,’ a category that recognises young volunteers who are moving into leadership roles in their club or project. Gordon Brown, 4th Corner, Northside Youth Cafe, David O’Connor and Wynette Reddington, both from the Irishtown Garda Youth Diversion Project, have all been put forward for consideration for the ‘Making a Difference Award,’ a category that recognises volunteers who engage with young people who are at risk. Catriona Hough, Rathkeale Youth Project and Seán O’Meara, Limerick Youth Service Board of Directors have been selected for the Behind the Scenes Awards. This category acknowledges volunteers who have made a contribution the development of a youth service, club or project. The Extra Mile Award is for volunteers who have made a sustained contribution to youth work over a prolonged period. With over 18 years experience between them, nominees Jerry O’Donovan, Newcastlewest Youth Club and Catriona Conlon, St. Paul’s Youth Club, Dooradoyle, certainly fit that category. “Youth Work Ireland will announce the winners in the coming weeks with the volunteers formally recognised at an awards ceremony in Dublin,” said Mr. Troy.

Established in 1999, the Volunteer Achievement Awards recognise the contribution that volunteers play in the development, growth and success of youth clubs. Last year, Alison Mullane, Kilmallock Youth Club, was awarded the Leading the Way Award, while Limerick Youth Service was presented with the Siobhan Cotter Memorial Award for its contribution to youth work.

Limerick Youth Service would like to thank all who nominated their colleagues and wishes the nominees the very best of luck for October’s awards. Youth Work Ireland is a federation of twenty two local youth services, including Limerick Youth Service, that delivers programmes and services to over 100,000 young people across Ireland. Now in its fortieth year, Limerick Youth Service remains committed to encouraging and supporting young people to be active participants in shaping their future.