ST CATHERINE’S…………………………………………0-5

Magnificent Milford strolled to a first ever Cork County Senior Camogie Championship title with a whopping 25 point win over St. Catherine’s in the 2012 decider on Sunday.

After losing the county senior finals of 2004, 2009 and 2011, Milford senior camogie side finally broke the hoodoo on Sunday when they were decisive winners over St Catherine’s in a one sided final at Castle Road, Blackrock. It was a reversal of the 2009 result when St Catherine’s were victorious; this time the Avondhu girls took control from the start. The game was over after 18 minutes when Milford struck for three goals and four points. They were three points ahead by the 9th minute; the goals came fast and furious from Marie Watson, Marie Walsh and Áine Watson. Orla Cotter was St Catherine’s best player but lacked support overall. Cotter had two points in the first half with Joanne O’Keeffe also pointing. At half time Milford led 3-7 to 0-3.

On the restart Milford continued to dominate in the half back line and midfield sectors. St. Cath-erine’s were unable to make any real impression and were held to a mere two points in the second half. Milford had points by Marie O Neill (3) and Regina Curtin to move out of sight by the end of the third quarter. Late goals by Lou-ise Flynn and Marie Walsh sealed victory long before the final whistle. Overall it was a poor final but it was Milford’s day. All six forwards for the winners scored from play. They had outstanding displays by Elaine O’Rior-dan, Regina Curtin, Marie Walsh, Aisling Thompson, Emer Watson and Marie O’Neill. They will now look forward to a good run in the Munster championship and start their campaign against Limerick champions Kille-edy in Raheenagh on Sat-urday.

Scorers Milford: Marie Walsh 2-2, Marie O’Neill 0-5, Emer Watson 0-5 (0-4f) Marie Watson 1-1, Aine Watson 1-0, Louise O’Flynn 1-0, Regina Curtin 0-2.St Catherine’s: Orla Cotter 0-3f, Fiona Cotter 0-1, Joanne O’Keeffe 0-1.

Milford: Rebecca Finn; Katie Galvin, Elaine O’Ri-ordan (Capt) Lisa Healy; Niamh O’Brien, Anna Geary, Sarah Sexton; Dei-rdre O’Reilly, Aisling Thompson; Marie Walsh, Emer Watson, Aine Wat-son; Marie O’Neill, Regina Curtin and Marie Watson.

Subs: Louise O’Flynn for Regina Curtin, Deirdre Hayes for Katie Galvin, Orlaith O’Mahony for Sarah Sexton, Emer O’Fr-iel for Marie Watson, Nic-ole O’Connor for Aine Watson.

St. Catherine’s: Andrea Mangan; Orna Neville, Noreen Mulcahy, Yvo-nne O’Neill; Carolyn Moth-erway, Fiona Cotter, Faith Noonan; Maeve O’Keeffe, Orla Cotter; Rachel O’Callaghan,Finnoula Neville, Maire O’Regan; Joanne O’Keeffe, Michelle Tobin and Evelyn Ron-ayne.

Subs: Annette Fitzgerald for Faith Noonan, Sandra Noonan for Orna Neville, Áine O’Regan for Evelyn Ronayne, Deirdre Mulcahy for Michelle Tobin.

Referee: Cathal Egan (Gl-en Rovers).