Mallow Golf Club Captain’s Prize is a Howell-ing success!

Another weekend of top class action at Ballyellis last weekend culminated in this year’s top prize (the Captain’s Prize) going the way of Robert Howell (14). The Mallow man took the club’s most coveted competition by three shots from Gerard Carey (10) in second, and Frank Ryan (15) in third. Yet again the Gross prize went to David Conway (scr) for a combined total over the two rounds of 3-over par. A brilliant second round from Sean Murphy (7) saw him elevated to fourth place with Jonathon Croker (10) finishing one place further back in fifth.

Eamonn O’Flynn (15), Colin Murphy (9) and Mario Fallone (15) rounded off the top eight spots as they took 6th, 7th and 8th places respec-tively.

There were also prizes on offer for Past Captain/President, Leading Qualifier, Best final round, Best Friday, Best Saturday and Best Sunday with the spoils in these going to John Sheehan (18), Con O’Callaghan (12), John O’Leary (10), John Liston (14), Stephen O’Donoghue (11) and last year’s champion David Forde (6) respectively.

Away from the Captain’s Prize there was the small matter of an 18-hole stableford competition to deal with – and top honours in this one went to David Kelleher (21) with his score of 45 points.

Second place in this one went to Neil Harrington (11) with third going to Billy O’Mahony (15) who both finished on a score of 41.

The last of the weekend’s honours went to Kevin O’Keeffe (5) for Best Gross and John Barry Jnr (9) for Best Saturday.