The official opening of Coláiste Chiaráin by Norma Foley T.D. Minister for Education will take place this Friday October 7th. It will be a very special day in the Maigueside, celebrating the official opening of the new college. Post Primary Education in Croom dates back to September 1937 when the doors of the new technical school opened. The cost of the three-room structure was in the region of £2,000. The new Headmaster was Gearoid O’hAodha who was Headmaster until 1950 when he was replaced by Dan Cotter. Other members of the staff were Mr. Killackey who taught Woodwork and Mechanical Drawing, D. O’Connor taught Rural Science, Maths and English, Miss Leahy taught Domestic Science and Canon Wall taught Religion. Forty students were enrolled. Among the pupils who enrolled were Nora Barry, Mickey Barry, Gerry O’Brien, Denis O’Regan (Banogue), Margaret O’Shea, Mary Chawke, Mary Noonan, Willie Hannon, Mary Hannon, Mary Noonan, Jim Irwin, Ned Meaney, Bridie O’Riordan, Joe Murphy, Michael O’Brien, George Reynolds, John O’Donnell, Oliver O’Toole, Joe O’Toole, Mary Broderick, Teresa Carroll, Nellie Guiry, Joan Keating, Nancy Kirby, Philomena Kirby, Mary Lee, Marie Stokes, Stastia Horgan, Chrissie Raleigh, Mary O’Donnell, Margaret O’Gorman, Brendan Burke and Seamus Kenny.
The Technical School, built in 1937, was replaced by St Mary’s Community College which was opened on Friday October 24th 1986 by Cllr. Michael Barry, Chairman of Limerick V.E.C. and the Ecumenical blessing was given by Rev. Mons. Liam Boyle and Rev R. Warren. Speakers included Michael Barry, Chairman V.E.C.; Mons. Liam Boyle P.P. Croom, Chairman of Board of Management; Brendan McElduff, College Principal; Thomas P. Sheahan and P.J. Sheahan and Partners Architects, Frank O’Brien, Managing Director Langan Bros. and Sean Uas. O’Luachra C.E.O. Limerick V.E.C.