Patrician Academy win football title Patrician Academy

Patrician Academy Munster champs

(Mallow) ……………….4-13
St. Augustine’s
(Dungarvan) ……………2-8
A well balanced Patrician Academy Mallow were well on top in this Munster Colleges Senior C Football Championship final at Ballyporeen on Saturday. The winners had the aid of the stiff breeze in the opening half. Academy had early points by Conor Corbett, Kieran Twomey (free) and Barry O’Shea after good work by Kieran Twomey. Rian Hogan kicked two rapid pointed frees for Dungarvan. On 15 minutes Eanna O’Hanlon with a free edged the Mallow side 0-4 to 0-2 clear. A foul on impressive Barry O’Shea led to another Eanna O’Hanlon pointed free. St. Augustine’s had a goal in the 23rd minute when Seán Walsh worked well for Jack O’Fhloinn who cut through and netted from close range as the sides were level 0-5 to 1-2. Academy finished the half well. They were impressive in midfield and their attack worked some good movements. Conor Corbett pointed and Kieran Twomey followed with a pointed free. In the 27th minute a foul on Conor McMahon led to another pointed free by O’Hanlon. In injury time a foul on Conor McMahon led to a penalty that Eanna O’Hanlon converted and the Mallow side were 1-8 to 1-2 clear at the break.
Academy had a dream start on the resumption. From the throw in good play by Kieran Twomey to Conor Corbett led to a well taken goal by Barry O’Shea as the Academy moved 2-8 to 1-2 clear. Barry O’Shea pointed after good play by Jack Dillon, David Walsh and Colm O’Shea. St. Augustine’s made a good recovery. Sam Fitzgerald worked well for Jack O’Fhloinn who pointed with Rian Hogan following with a free. At the end of the 3rd quarter the lead was down to 7 points when John Devine kicked a great point. Academy followed with a point when Jack Hadden and Conor McMahon set up Conor Corbett who pointed as Mallow led by double scores, 2-10 to 1-5. The West Waterford side battled hard against the odds, they had 3 points in succession by Rian Hogan (2 frees) and Daithi Brunnock to leave the score 2-10 to 1-8. Mallow regrouped well with their defence very solid. Kieran Twomey pointed a ‘45 and Barry O’Shea had his second goal after being put through by Kieran Twomey and Conor McMahon, 3-11 to 1-8. Eanna O’Hanlon followed with a pointed free. In the closing moments a close in free for Dungarvan by Jack O’Fhloinn went in off the crossbar. It was only a consolation score as Academy were still well ahead 3-12 to 2-8. In injury time Academy had their 4th goal when Seán Kelly and Barry O’Shea combined for Ben O’Connor who goaled. Kieran Twomey pointed a free deep in injury time. The Academy emerged easy victors and they will face the Leinster champions in the All Ireland semi final on Saturday March 9th. After the game Neilius O’Murchu presented the Seán O’Murchu Cup to the winning captain Kieran Twomey in the presence of Declan Fitzgerald of the Post Primary Schools Board.
Scorers for Patrician Academy: Barry O’Shea 2-2, Eanna O’Hanlon 1-4 (0-4f.1-0 pen), Kieran Twomey 0-4 (0-3f. 0-1 ‘45), Conor Corbett 0-3 Ben O’Connor 1-0.
St. Augustine’s: Jack O’ Fhloinn 2-1 (1-0f), Rian Hogan 0-5f. John Devine 0-1, Daithi Brunnock 0-1.
Patrician Academy: Josh Murphy (Mallow), Jack Hadden (do), Niall O’Riordan (do), Oisín Carroll (do), Brian O’Sullivan (Castlemagner), Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig), Shane Merritt (Mallow), Eanna O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), Kieran Twomey (capt., do.), Eoin Kelleher (Mallow), Barry O’Shea (Kilshannig), Jack Dillon (Mallow), Ciaran O’Sullivan (Kilshannig), Conor McMahon (do.), Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers). Subs: David Walsh (Clyda Rovers) for Eoin Kelleher, Ben O’Connor (Clyda Rovers) for Ciarán O’Sullivan, Charlie Carroll (Mallow) for Conor McMahon, Seán Kelly (Clyda Rovers) for Oisín Carroll.
St. Augustine’s: Philip Dunwoody (Kilrossanty), Colin Foley (Ballinacourty), Jack Keane (Ardmore), Liam Fennell (Stradbally), Patrick Fitzgerald (Ballinacourty), John Devine (Mondeligo), Jake Moore (Ballinacourty), Henry Griffin (Ballinameela), Sam Fitzgerald (Clashmore), Daithí Brunnock (Ballinacourty), Jack O’Fhloinn (An Gaeltacht), Rian Hogan (Kilrossanty), Seán Walsh (The Nire), Ciarán Keating (Ardmore), Eoin Aherne (Ballinacourty). Subs: Seán Kent (Ballinacourty) for Jake Moore, Cian Geary (St. Patrick’s) for Eoin Aherne, Johnny Burke (Dungarvan) for Ciarán Keating, Michael Flynn (An Gaeltacht) for Henry Griffin).
Referee: John Butler (Tipperary)