When one of Ireland’s greatest athletes singles you out for praise, you know you have done something right, and this was certainly the case at the Mallow Sports and Leisure Awards in Springfort Hall last Friday night when a message of thanks was read out from Sonia O’Sullivan for Hall of Fame recipient, Mike Bourke. In her letter the Cork athlete said the award was a just reward for the continuing work and commitment Mike has shown for Community Games in Mallow and at national level.

The Sports and Leisure Awards, a glittering occasion, highlighted the best in sporting and community achievement in the town over the past 12 months. Recipient of the Community Award was the Rotary Club, which has done sterling work for local charities over the years, and president Stephanie Hartnett accepted the award from the special guest, Cork football legend, Tony Davis. A special pres-entation was also made to Seán Brennan for his years of dedication to the Sports and Leisure committee. After the speeches the Skas took to the stage for dancing.

Adult sports award winners were John Ferris of Mallow Masters Swimming Club, Davis College senior volleyball team, Mallow Handball Club, Michael Murphy of Ballyclough Road Bowling Club and Ciara O’Sullivan of Mourneabbey Ladies Football Club. Adult club-person awards went to Esther Cahill (Mallow and Mourneabbey I.C.A.), Bartley Galvin (Mallow G.A.A.), Maeve O’Reilly (Red Cross), Johnny ‘Bongos’ Horgan (CDYS) and Ciarán Tracey (Citizens’ Information Service).

Youth Award winners were Brandon Arrey (Davis College and Blarney Inniscarra AC), Young Social Innovators Group (Davis College), Kevin Taylor (Patrician Academy and Mallow Utd. F.C.), James Sugrue (Patrician Academy and Mallow Golf Club), Doireann O’Sullivan (St. Mary’s Secondary School and Mourneabbey Ladies Football), Mallow minor G.A.A. team, Nicola Stokes (Davis College and North Mon Taekwondo Club), Ryan Harkin (Patrician Academy and Mallow Handball Club), Michael Healy (Duhallow Pony Club), Dominique O’Shea (Cloyne Diocesan Youth Services), Donnelle O’Leary (St. Mary’s Secondary School and Mounted Games Assoc-iation Ireland), Junior Orienteering team (St. Mary’s Secondary School), Emily Burchell (St. Mary’s Secondary School and Team Ballyhoura) and Johanna O’Mahony (Mallow Special Olympics Football Club).