St Mary’s camogie juniors are on a roll!

St. Mary’s Charleville junior camogie panel, captained by Ballyhea’s Jane Foley, have qualified for the Cork County semi-final and the Munster League semi-final. They are pictured above after a draw last week after extra time against Mount Mercy.

St. Mary’s Secondary School, Charleville, junior camogie panel, captained by Ballyhea’s Jane Foley, have qualified for the Cork County semi-final and the Munster League semi-final. The final score in the game was 3-3 apiece after a cracking game of camogie that lasted 80 minutes. Laura Frawley was the heroine with a last-minute goal to tie up the game. The juniors are now looking forward to the replay after Christmas, and also to the Munster league semi-final against Tulla.
In the Cork quarter final, the juniors played Carrigtwohill away and emerged victorious on a scoreline of 8-6 to 2-15. Player of the match was undoubtedly Eve Moloney who scored five opportunistic goals. On the day, the twin duo from Granagh-Ballingarry, Eimear Hogan and Sophie McDonagh were both excellent, while others to play well were Lauren Dillon-O’Toole, Sinead Jones, captain Jane Foley and Laura Frawley. India Hanley was another who played really well in her hard-working centre forward role. Scorers on the day were Jane Foley (1-1), Eve Moloney (5-1), Sophie McDonagh (0-1), Laura Frawley (0-3), Eimear Hogan (1-0) and Kayleigh McNamara (1-0). The semi-final was against Mount Mercy who boast a number of intercounty Cork players. Our scores came from Laura Frawley (2-1), Aine O’Sullivan (0-1), Ellie Gammell (1-0) and Jane Foley (0-1). At the end of normal time and extra time, the two teams could not be separated. It was a superb game with a brilliant team performance and some fantastic individual performances. Eimear Hogan was unbelievable at wing back and saved our bacon with a last-ditch tackle in the final minute of extra time. Laura Frawley scored the equalising goal with an excellently-struck 25-yard free from a bad ankle. Aoibhinn Barrington, Eve Moloney and Sophie McDonagh formed an unbreakable full-back line. Sinead Jones is playing out of her skin at the moment and has become a real leader in the half-back line.
Our captain Jane Foley is some player. Her leadership skills are second to none and she really motivates the juniors to higher levels. Aine O’Sullivan is an absolute workhorse in the middle of the pitch. Roisin Jackman worked so hard in the half-forward line and got huge support from Laura Frawley. The inside forward line of Ellie Gammell, Evelyn O’Reilly and Grace McCarthy won a pile of ball and all did really well. Abbie O’Shea and Caoimhe Morrissey have come on at various stages and will again, and will continue to make valuable contributions. The juniors are training hard every Tuesday and Thursday and are hoping to make this year a successful one. The two upcoming semi-finals will be on early after Christmas. In the Munster competition the juniors played excellently in both of their games and were so unlucky to lose to Carrick-on-Suir 2-4 to 1-3, and to a last-second goal against Nenagh, 1-6 to 0-6. Our scores came from Laura Frawley (0-3), Roisin Jackman (0-1) and Jane Foley (1-5).
Junior panel: Jane Foley (captain) (Ballyhea), India Hanley (Ballyhea), Sinead Jones (Charleville), Laura Frawley (Granagh-Ballingarry), Lauren-Dillon O’Toole (Ballyhea), Rachel O’Brien (Charleville), Aine O’Sullivan (Ballyhea), Grace McCarthy (Charleville), Eimear Bresnan (Charleville), Ciara Boyce (Ballyagran), Amy Geary (Milford), Orlaith Murphy (Milford), Siobhan O’Hara (Charleville), Emma Morrissey (Charleville), Katie O’Connor (Newtown-shandrum), Eve Moloney (Blackrock/Effin), Ellen Murphy (Charleville), Roisin Jackman (Charleville), Ellie Gammell (Charleville), Aoibhinn Barrington (GranaghBallingarry), Caoimhe Morrissey (Ballyhea), Shona O’Neill (Charleville), Clara Crowley (Ballyhea), Laura O’Keeffe (Ballyagran), Sophie McDonagh (GranaghBallingarry), Eimear Hogan (GranaghBallingarry), Evelyn O’Reilly (Charleville), Amelia Gleeson (Charleville), Gemma Barry (Charleville), Kayleigh McNamara (Charleville), Katelyn Daly (Ballyhea), Kahlen Flanagan (Blackrock/Effin), Meadhbh Riordan (Ballyagran), Leah Ryan (Charleville), Caoimhe O’Leary (Charleville), Clara O’Halloran (Newtownshandrum), Danielle Finucane (Newtownshandrum), Blaithin O’Connor (Newtownshandrum), and Caoimhe Cunningham (Ballyagran).