Mallow United U13s are Roy Keane Premier Champions 2012

Mallow United U13s are the Roy Keane Premier Champions after a nail-biting encounter with their closest rivals Corinthians Boys in the town park Mallow last Wednesday night. Needing only a point to capture the prestigious title, Mallow didn’t disappoint in an excellent encounter. Corinthians Boys, who had to win, started the quicker and had their first goal on 2 minutes. Mallow didn’t panic and on 15 minutes they got their reward when Kevin McMahon scored directly from a brilliant corner. Mallow, now on top, were very unlucky with a Greg Barrett  shot that was well saved by the opposing keeper. With outstanding keeper Patrick Osinski, a brilliant backline  of Stephen Roche, Matthew McGlynn, Darragh O’Sullivan and led by captain John Browne, and a midfield four of  Liam Dowling, Tommy Mannah, Cian O’Driscoll and Conor O’Riordan, Mallow won everything. The half time whistle went with the score still at 1-1. The second half was as fast and exciting as the first, and was end to end with both teams excelling. On 40 minutes Mallow took the lead when Greg Barrett latched onto a great through ball and sent a cracker to the top right hand corner of the Corinthians net. Corinthians Boys never gave up and on 50 minutes equalised. The last 10 minutes were heart-stopping and when the final whistle was blown a huge cheer was heard from the large Mallow contingent. The cup was presented to John Browne who thanked Corinthians Boys for a great game, Eddie Doyle of the Cork Schoolboys League for the cup and also team managers Seanie Browne and Joe Dowling, to great applause. This was a huge achievement as the team are undefeated all year in the Premier League with 15 wins and 2 draws with one more match to play. Great thanks must also be given to all the parents who drove to matches and training all year long.

Team: Patrick Osinski, Stephen Roche, John Browne (capt), Matthew Mcglynn, Darragh O’Sullivan, Liam Dowling, Tommy Mannah, Cian O’Driscoll, Conor O’Riordan, Kevin McMahon, Greg Barrett.  Subs: R. Whelan, C. McAuliffe, K. Horgan, N. Lenihan , D. Donnelly, C. McMahon.